On Being Brave

So I’m casseroling in the kitchen (Yes, it must mean my man is out of town.  I rarely cook. And when I do, it’s quite nearly always a one-dish wonder).

So I’m casseroling in the kitchen, and all the while drumming up title variations for this thing I’m doing.  The teenager had already been messing around with my tune box, and Ed Sheeran (who?!) inspired the playlist to numbers I’ve only recently heard on this season of American Idol. (Don’t judge me).

and this last one:

Leave it to a thirteen year old to rock your world. And he wasn’t even in the house to witness my downfall!

Everybody’s been there, everybody’s been stared down
By the enemy
Fallen for the fear and done some disappearing
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, stop holding your tongue
Maybe there’s a way out of the cage where you live
Maybe one of these days you can let the light in
Show me how big your brave isSay what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave
Seriously? How can God take a song playlist inspired by thirteen year old’s passions for techno tunes and video game refrains, harmonize it with an ache to get this thing right, and have me dancing in an open kitchen over the prospect of being brave?
And since your history of silence
Won’t do you any good
Did you think it would?
Let your words be anything but empty
Why don’t you tell them the truth?Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

Here’s to bold bravery, friends. Here’s to being brave.

be you bravely

Might I Pray for Us?

Dear Father,

So may aspects of this world scare the bejezus out of us. What we see. What we hear. What we imagine. What you call us to. So we run and hide and pretend we didn’t hear a thing. But you call us of out of hiding and into the Light. You call us to be brave warriors standing on Truth, resting in Truth, proclaiming Truth. Help us to be brave, even in the midst of fear. Amen.