Speak Life {& FREE gifts for everyone!}

It started with a song:

I know your feeling weighted down

It’s all on your shoulders

I know the dreams in your head don’t look any closer (Royal Tailor, Remain lyrics)

Do you have those days, too?  Where the past few hours condense into a thick stew of raw emotion and bubble up long-held frustration?  And all you want to do is discover a hidden cave right under your kitchen and crawl inside?  Where the hum of the washing machine, the chiming cell phone, and the joyful screams of snow-day children all pause unexpectedly…and you hear Him.  You hear Him singing over you:

I know you’re feeling weighted down, like it’s all on your shoulders.  And I know the dreams in your head don’t look any closer,” He croons.

“He knows,” I think. He knows I just ripped a corner of my little one’s heart out with my words. And my bigger one silently sulks in the corner because I just might have spoken the truth in anything but love. And, of course, there He goes again, singing songs over me.

When the sun won’t shine and you don’t know why

Look into the eyes of the brokenhearted

Watch them come alive as soon as you speak hope

You speak love, You speak life…You speak life (Toby Mac, Speak Life lyrics)

Speak life, huh? The only life in me is the life You live in me despite my best efforts. I don’t know how to come to life. I spend my life chasing after the dreams in my head and often leave You behind in my quest for the simple things – like coffee, or clean dishes, or my morning Facebook check-up, or just about anything else.

Those dreams in my head surely don’t look any closer.  I’m desperate not only for the simple things, but the big things too – to be known for something. Like writing wise words worth reading, or turning 40 and looking fabulous, or raising amazing munchkins, or decorating delightful dwellings, or, or…anything. Something. Some thing that seems worthy, or accomplished, or reputable. Anything but where it seems I am.right.now.

But are these the things You want of me? ‘Cuz I sit with Your Word and I hear You saying:

  • Love one another with brotherly affection. Outdo one another in showing honor (Romans 12:10)
  • [Do] not to think of [yourself] more highly than [you] ought to think (Romans 12:3)
  • Be Mine (Malachi 3:17), Be loved (John 14:21), Be held (Genesis 1:31), Be known (Jeremiah 29:11)

Not so much doing anything, as being with You, being in You, being loved by You. But being doesn’t accomplish much. There is no achievement, no trophy, nothing to hold up for all to cheer about, except You. Oh…except You.

Oh help me to see You as a greater accomplishment than my worldly aspirations. To seek You, be called by You, be loved by You, be held by You, be known by You. To love as You love, outdo others only in showing love, love other into my life where only You are high and lifted up. Where You trump all my trophies. Where You are my light, my love, my life.

Some days [your] tongue gets twisted

Other days [your] thoughts just fall apart

I do, I don’t, I will won’t

It’s like [you’re] drowning in the deep (Toby Mac, Speak Life lyrics continued)

Oh Jesus, help my heart desire, long for, pine after You. Help me to see nothing but the glory of being in Your presence. May I want You so close to me that I’ll let nothing step between You and I. May I be so entrenched in Your presence that I become deaf to the world calling my name, offering something, anything that seems worthy, or accomplished, or reputable.

If our lips really are, as Toby Mac sings, the arms of compassion and mountains can crumble with every syllable, then help me speak life not only to myself, but to others. Help me speak Christ, speak Your Name: the name above all other names, the only real Life in this life. Help me hold up nothing but You: You alive in me.  Help me speak life. Amen.

speak life2

So here you go, friends. The only Life I have to offer – His life poured out for you.  I offer the following words to you on this day above all other days to outdo one another in showing love.  May these words, His Life, “lift your head a little higher, and spread His love like fire.” Because, “Hope will fall like rain when [we] speak life with the words we say” (Toby Mac, Speak Life lyrics continued). So speak Life.

  • I anointed you, Kerri, set My seal of ownership on you, and put My Spirit in your heart as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come. 2 Corinthians 1:21b-22
  • Since you are in Christ, Mandi, I have made you an heir of all My promises.   Galatians 3:29
  • Neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate you, Denise, from My love that is in Christ Jesus. Romans 8:39
  • Because of Jesus, you, Kate, are free from all condemnation. Romans 8:1
  • My plan for your future, Susan, is filled with hope. Jeremiah 29:11
  • I will take hold of your hand, DiAnne, to keep you from falling. Psalm 37:24
  • My power will rest on you, Shannon, when you are weak. 2 Corinthians 12:9
  • In Christ, you, are a new creation, Kimberly. The old has gone, the new is here! 2 Corinthians 5:17
  • Cast all your worries on Me, Jenn, for I really care about you. 1 Peter 5:7
  • It is for freedom that Christ has set you free, Connie. Do not let yourself be burdened again by a yoke of slavery. Galatians 5:1
  • My love for you, Mary, will persevere through every situation. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7
  • For as high as the heavens are above the earth, so great is My steadfast love toward you, Sarah. As far as the east is from the west, I remove your transgressions. Psalm 103:11-12
  • Not one of My promises will ever fail you, Christie. Joshua 23:14
  • For you are My handiwork, Angela, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which I prepared in advance for you to do. Ephesians 2:10
  • Trust in Me with all your heart, Stacy, and I will guide you. Proverbs 3:5-6
  • I will give you peace, Meredith, at all times and in every situation. 2 Thessalonians 3:16
  • Now in Christ Jesus you, Lisa, who once was far away have been brought near by the blood of Christ. Ephesians 2:13
  • Call on Me, Pam, when you are in trouble and I will rescue you. Psalm 91:15
  • My peace, which transcends all understanding, will guard your heart and your mind in Christ Jesus, Michelle. Philippians 4:7
  • I will keep you safe, Jessica, because no one can snatch you out of My hand.  John 10:29
  • I will meet all your needs, Jamie, according to the riches of My glory in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19
  • You can know and depend on the love that I have for you, Alina. 1 John 4:16
  • In Christ you have been brought to fullness, Lori. He is the head over every power and authority. Colossians 2:10
  • You can trust in Me, Sohee, for I will never forsake you.    Psalm 9:10
  • Since you have been raised with Christ, Monica, set your heart on things above, where Christ is, seated at My right hand. Colossians 3:1
  • Though the mountains vanish, My unending love will never leave you, Shellie.  Isaiah 54:10
  • My grace was poured out on you abundantly, Becky, along with the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. 1 Timothy 1:14
  • I see all your hardships, Hope, and I care about your suffering. Psalm 31:7
  • I will protect and carry you, Gigi, all the days of your life. Isaiah 46:4
  • I made you alive in Jesus simply because I love you, Katie.    Ephesians 2:4-5
  • You can know and depend on the love that I have for you, Malia. 1 John 4:16

May the Life of Christ dwell richly in you this day.

Love,

Tracey

photo credits {HERE}

2 thoughts on “Speak Life {& FREE gifts for everyone!}

  1. Tracey – Thank you so much for your sweet gift! It made me all teary eyed 🙂 I hope you had a happy love day. I very much identify with the mothering struggles you have and I too long to seek my identity in Christ. It’s hard but its easier knowing we’re not alone. God bless you!

    • Hey sweet friend,
      I’m so honored to have you visiting me in my little corner of the world. No. We are not alone. That’s the lie of Satan. He’s love for us to believe it. But unfortunately for him, the rebellious types (like me) survive to tell the world all about him. 🙂

Comments are closed.