Baby-in-a-Bubble-Bath {& FREE Give-Away}

Give me Three Days and I’ll give you My Secret to Abundant Life – Day 2

love richly1

This mug arrived in the mail today. The following words inscribed in its curved burgundy veneer:

God richly gives us everything to enjoy {1 Tim 6:17}.

I think it’s lovely – this mug I ordered. But I can’t help but doubt the inscription – God richly gives us everything to enjoy. Really? Everything?

I secretly suspect that the coffee {and the organic creamer and the raw sugar – yes, thank you, Kate,  my hippie friend, for manipulating my morning mug!}. I secretly suspect all this is not a gift from God. Does He really want me me to pump up on caffeine…and organic fat…and unrefined sugar…and enjoy it so much I border on becoming an addict?

Just what does this enjoying everything really mean? Because The Message takes this message even further:

Tell them to go after God. Tell them to go after God who piles on all the riches we could ever manage.

Am I the only one who struggles with the idea that God wants me to enjoy life like a splashing baby in a bubble bath? I mean, really. I’m not an unhappy person. But 1 Tim 6:17 sounds more like King Midas hoarding mounds of gold and silver and counting his blessings like rubies rippling out of his hands. Who does that?

Apparently, God’s people do that.

You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy! At your right hand are pleasures forevermore {Psalm 16:11}.

Rejoice in the Lord, always. I will say it again. Rejoice! {Philippians 4:4}

And in Luke 10:42, while Martha tarried over a great many things, Mary enjoyed Jesus. Martha was confused about the purpose God had for her[i], but Mary had discovered her baby-in-a-bubble-bath Joy in the presence of the Lord.

love richly3

God designed us for more than merely surviving this caffeinated life. In the Garden, as He molded clay and breathed on us the breath of life, He dreamed of men and women who glorified Him and enjoyed Him forever! {Doubt me?  Just check out the Westminster Shorter Catechism – question #1.}

I’ve spent a few weeks letting my inner engineer dissect this verse in Romans – this verse that speaks of Hope and Joy and Peace.

Now may the God of Hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. {Romans 15:13}

On Day 1, I concluded that Belief → Hope. Without belief in Jesus we no lasting Hope – we only have Truth.

But today?  Today I’m wresting with God’s gift of Joy. For this same verse in Romans reports that the God of Hope is also my source of Joy.

Now may the God of Hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. {Romans 15:13}

Which brings us to Secret #2: The God of Hope → Joy + Peace.

God brings Joy to my doorstep – and not just in the form of a pretty mug with some questionable quotes from Scripture or some amazing brown liquid to fill its coffers. He delivers His own Son to my doorstep.

The Valley of Vision {p16} puts it like this:

He came below to raise me above. Was born like me that I might become like Him…

When I was undone, with no will to return to him, and no intellect to devise recovery,

He came, God-incarnate, to save me to the uttermost, as man to die my death,

To shed satisfying blood on my behalf,

To work out a perfect righteousness for me…

In him God has given me so much that heaven can give no more.

The God of Hope doesn’t merely bring gifts worth enjoying. Everything of worth already arrived in His greatest gift.

As Matt Maher sings, God brings us everything and nothing but His love. He brings us Jesus.

In fact, He’s given so much that heaven can give no more. And if we just receive the gift, if we just unwrap the package delivered directly to our front door, we acquire more Joy than we might ever ask for or imagine. Maybe I can learn to enjoy everything after all. Maybe you can too?

love richly4Photo Credits {Here}

Might I Pray for Us?

Dear God of Hope,

Fill us with Joy and Peace this day as we believe.  Help us remember we have everything when we have nothing but Your love. That everything is worth rejoicing over.  That everything is our greatest Joy. Amen.

Q4U: Want your own FREE ‘Everything’ mug? 

Just ‘share’ this post on Facebook {below} or ‘like’ it as a WordPress user, and then let me know of your actions in the comment box below. I’ll pick a winner and announce them next Sunday. Good Luck!


[i] Training Hearts, Teaching Minds, Starr Meade, p10

6 thoughts on “Baby-in-a-Bubble-Bath {& FREE Give-Away}

  1. Beautifully written my dear friend!! I shared it on FB too! May our God fill you with joy and peace on this day 🙂

  2. Thanks for sharing Tracey. Hope to keep pondering on these thoughts and really see what goodness He puts before me today. Hope you capture His joy in your day too!

    • Me too. I just sat in the kitchen and felt as dreary as the rain outside…and then remembered: He’s already given me EVERYTHING I could ever need. 🙂 God Bless you friend.

  3. I “liked” this message…. But not for a chance at a free mug… But because of the beautiful reminder that God has given us the greatest gift and the greatest response we can have is to rejoice and be thankful for every precious moment and gift He gives us!! Love you sister!! Stacy Cliver

Comments are closed.