My One Word for 2014: Hope

Now, may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit. {Romans 15:13}

That is my prayer for 2014 – for the moments and memories of the next 365 revolutions around the sun {around the Son} to discover the God of Hope. To uncover His Joy and His Peace and wear it like a mantle upon my shoulders. Dress in it daily, like a sleeve upon my shirt. Like a monk’s habit. Like a priest’s raiment. And in the daily dressing, convert heavy habit into welcome tradition.

Psalm 16:11 promises:

[God] will show me the path of life. In [His] presence is fullness of joy.

Psalm 16:11 promises Joy. Not the fleeting, flitting, elusive joy of a child who never quite catches a dragonfly.  But a full and complete Joy.  A lacking-nothing Joy. A perfectly satiated, hungry-for-no-more, stuffed-to-the-brim kind of Joy.  A pleasures-forevermore Joy. Forever! And more where the more came from! With no end in sight. Can you imagine dressing in that kind of Joy?

Several years ago my sweet friend, Sarah, gave me a house-warming gift.  A sign that I hang by the back door. It says:

Peace is not the absence of conflict, but the presence of God.

In a house filled with four spirited, sometimes snappy siblings, this Momma needs to be reminded daily: Peace is not the absence of conflict.  Peace, like Joy, is a Person.  And His name is Jesus.

Won’t you join me?  Won’t you enter into the search for Joy and Peace in this crazy, mix-up, stressed-out life? This world where I {and you, perhaps?} are tempted to believe perfect children, a youthful body, and Pinterest-worthy performances are our only hope.

Hope

Won’t you join me as we discover how the Gospel, God’s proclamation of Hope, affects our daily life? Our daily search for lost Joy and Peace? Our daily dressing in Jesus?

Stick with me in 2014, this Year of Hope?  And together may we find that the God of hope fills us with all Joy and Peace in believing that we may abound in Hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Photo Credits {HERE}

