Top 10 Christmas Song Countdown {#2}

#2: The B List {by Kimberly}

When Tracey and I decided to write this series, we knew the song list capped at 10. After all, there is a limit to your interest in blog posts about Christmas songs.

this is my song

Several of my favorites escaped the top 10, despite the precious memories attached to their notes. I couldn’t leave them off entirely, so I included them and a brief description of their significance here.  Enjoy!

  • The 12 Days of Christmas: When Annsley was 2 years old, this was her favorite song.  Whenever it came on, she belted out “5 GOLDEN RINGS” at the top of her lungs.  But she did it at all the appropriate times during the song.  Every time I hear it, it never fails to make me smile.
  • Mele Kalikimaka: I spent 3 Christmases in Hawaii.  I know people generally treasure White Christmases and Winter Wonderlands during this time of year, but Christmas in Hawaii is tough to beat.  And this song brings it all back.  Good friends, sand between my toes, and boogie boarding on Christmas Eve.  Perfection.
  • Christmastime by Michael W. Smith:  If you grew up in the church during the 80-90’s, it is required to have at least one of his albums.  He’s an icon in this genre of music.  His Christmas albums are much beloved in my house, but I love the back story of this specific song.  He wrote it during his child’s High School Graduation ceremony.  He was providing the music for the ceremony, and inspiration struck.  He tuned out the ceremony and became lost in the song.  He missed graduation, but got a beautiful song out of the deal.
  • All is Well by Point of Grace:  Simple reason: The girl can sing.
  • His Favorite Christmas Story by Capital Lights:  I am a sucker for songs that tell a story.  Generally, Christmas songs that tell a story are exceptionally cheesy. (Ahem,” Christmas Shoes”)  But, this one is touching without making me inwardly cringe.
  • Po Hemolele (Oh Holy Night in Hawaiian):  One Christmas Eve, our worship pastor sang this song in a candlelit church.  I couldn’t understand a word of it, but it touched me in a way that I cannot explain.  It was incredibly beautiful, and I will never forget it.
  • I Celebrate the Day by Relient K:  Relient K is one of my favorite bands.  This is not the type of song that you would typically expect from them.  It is an honest portrayal of a person reflecting on his relationship with Christ and doesn’t like what he sees.   It is humble, honest, and one of my favorites all year round.
  • Silent Night by Go Fish:  I dare you to listen to this song without smiling.  It’s impossible.  Or better yet, call me and I can listen to it.  It’s my ring tone.

So there you have it, the ‘B’ list.  But I do feel better having them written down somehow.  Thanks for hanging out with us these past 9 days.  It has been a joy to share our hearts with you.  Only one day left!  I hope you can join us as we wrap this series up tomorrow.   Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Photo Credits {HERE}

____________________________________________________

