Top 10 Christmas Song Countdown {#8}

#8: You’re a Mean One, Mr. Grinch {by Kimberly}

Hallmark Christmases look really nice, don’t they?  Every house is warm and inviting, snow is gently falling, dinner is delicious (and on time), kids are behaving perfectly (in matching outfits), lights are twinkling in the background, and no one is irritated with anyone else.   There might even be lighthearted banter between characters.

Peaceful.

Serene.

I know you can picture it.  You’ve seen it on every TV special.  Even the Griswold’s had a perfect ending. Your Christmases might look exactly like that — right down to a spotless kitchen at the end of the holiday meal.

#8 Mr Grinch2

Mine usually aren’t.  At times I feel like the Grinch’s dog when he is forced to pull the giant sleigh of stolen Christmas items up the mountain.  A lot of the Christmas responsibility falls on a mom’s shoulders.  Someone has to prep all those “wonderful” family traditions everyone enjoys so much. But let’s just be honest… it doesn’t always work out well.   I burn the cookies, get stressed about white elephant gifts, inwardly grumble in post office lines, and get irritated when my kids don’t enjoy things the way I think they should. When the stress of life happens around me, I can snap.  I yell at those I love the most.  I make them feel guilty because I don’t feel appreciated.  I mope when I don’t get my way.  I may not be green, but I am as cuddly as a cactus.

Enjoy those Christmas memories, kids.

HOW THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS, Cindy Lou Who, Grinch, Max, 1966.

So I am left with a challenge.  When standing over something spilled or broken by little hands, I have a choice.  I can let my inner Grinch out…or I can realize that most of these “things” I am stressed about really don’t matter.  I can respond to situations with grace and love.  I can be the mom my kids are used to seeing, instead of a person who chases her tail and yells a lot.  I can prioritize.  I can be honest with people about my limitations.  I don’t have to steal others’ joy in order to soothe my ruffled feathers.

And chances are, when I choose this way, my heart will grow 5 times as big.  Just like the Grinch.

Photo Credits {HERE}

________________________________________________________________________

