As a Little Child {$1000 in 10 Days}

But Jesus called the little children to Him and said, “Let the little children come to Me and do not forbid them; for such is the kingdom of God. Assuredly I say to you, whoever does not receive the kingdom of God as a little child will by no means enter it.” {Luke 18:16-17}

Jesus called.

God always calls.

He calls me, my children, the children down the street.  Even the children whining and crying and making a scene at the grocery store checkout line when you just.want.to.get.home. Jesus is calling.

As a little child

The real question remains. “Do we hear Him?” For “such is the kingdom of God” – this being called.

Do we heed the voice whispering in the wind? “Come, My child.

Do we come, unhindered, unconcerned with all that’s left behind?

Do we run with joyful expectation into the arms of He who called my name? For Has has called you by name. You are His. {Isaiah 43:1}

Do we walk in full confidence that He is GOOD? And only good will come of my decision to run into His arms?

Do we obey without excuse, without complaint, without delay? Like a child.

Then why is it so hard to catch my own counsel?

This call to raise $1000 in 10 days, came on the wings of the prayer, “Anything.” It came whispering in the wind. It came.  And I caught it.  But did I receive it like a little child?

As a little child2

Unhindered, unconcerned with what I would have to drop in order to hold onto His plan?

I want to say without a doubt, “Yes!” He called. I listened.  He said, “Come to Me.” I ran. I actually ran!

But the truth is, while running, I feared who might be watching, and tripped a few times looking over my shoulder. I panicked at the thought of failing {and failing publicly!}, and crafted more than my fair share of excuses, complaints, and “reasons” to delay.

But, despite my adult-like faith, I made it. I reached out to my Savior, dropped my agenda, and held onto His hands.  And while it seemed to me the weight of the world, I know I only received the tiniest portion of the Kingdom’s work. And He provided!

He provided $1000 not in 10 days, but 3!

Three perfect days. Perfectly fulfilled. Not a penny more and not a penny less. Perfect. As always.

I’m still afraid.  I’m still afraid I’ll hear His calling and hesitate again to drop my full agenda in order to hold onto His plan.  I’m afraid I’ll see Him standing there, waiting for me, and I’ll turn around to see who’s watching.  Find an excuse to just finish-up something important, or craft a complaint about His poor timing, or just plain drag my feet. I do all that very well. This adult-like faith.

But we have Good News. He still calls.

My name. Your name. Knowing all he knows, He still calls His little children and says, “Come. for such is the kingdom of heaven.”

Photo Credits {and more inspiring photos} HERE

Might I Pray for Us?

Dear Calling Savior,

You call. We listen.  But we do not respond as a child.  We do not run into the arms of our Savior as a little one running into safety.  Forgive us.  Forgive us for holding too tightly to our own lives, and failing to open our hands to Your will, Your way, Your life. Thank you that you still call. You always call.  Help us to hear, to obey like a little child. Amen.

