Get up and Dance {or How to Live the Perfect Life p.4}

The morning stars sang together, and all the sons of God shouted for joy. {Job 38:7}

When was the last time I shouted for joy?  When was the last time I danced the dance I was born for like “the dance of the planets before the sun – turning, spinning, circling, wheeling, revolving, orbiting around and around” {Sally Lloyd-Jones, Thoughts to Make Your Heart Sing, p19}.

Most days I feel like singer, songwriter {and all around fun, get-up-and-dance to her music kinda gal} Jaime Grace.  In the early days of her career she often bemoaned:

“This is not my day!”

And what did her father say?

“No, child.  It was never meant to be your day.  This is the day the Lord has made. Let us rejoice and be glad in it”

Dance1

It was never meant to be my day.  This is the Lord’s day.  He’s been at work through the night, preparing this day for the world.  Now is the time to honor His handiwork, rejoice in the party He has prepared, and join Him on The Dance Floor.

So why is it so hard?

Already in only the third week of Escuela Casa Beers, I’m waking up with knots in my stomach, and dread in my head.

What if I’m failing my children? What if Jack really never learns to read?  What if I’m stunting their future potential by my lack of deep understanding of all this instruction?  What if someone else took over this job?  Would it really be so bad if I wasn’t here?

Where have I gone wrong?  When did the dance floor become the wrestling arena?  When did the morning stars end their song?  Did I sleep in too late ?  Or am I merely tone deaf to their angelic voices?

Dance4

Sally Lloyd-Jones has a new book out.  As usual, it’s a child’s book amazingly appropriate for adults. On page 162 she says:

Why are  people usually unhappy?

David Martin Lloyd-Jones {relative, perhaps??} said it’s because people are listening to themselves instead of talking to themselves. {emphasis mine}

When you wake up in the morning, you can listen to whatever your thoughts are telling you…or you can talk back.  You can remind yourself of what is true, and who you are, and who God is and what He has done.

You can say something like:

This is the day that the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it. {Psalm 118:24, ESV}

or as the Bible in Basic English says:

This is the day which the Lord has made; we will be full of joy and delight in it.

or even according to The Message:

This is the very day God acted – let’s celebrate and be festive!

Even the Westminster Shorter Catechism tells me to join the dance.  “What is the chief end of man? Man’s chief end is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

Enjoy!  Find joy in Him! I am called to have fun.  To spin with delight in the God of my Salvation.  To party with His promises, stand on the feet of His mighty works, to salsa with His standards?  To be pleased that He calls me His own, His precious child, and He delights in me!

Dance2

But at 6AM, with a long day dawning, it’s hard to make that choice – because it is a choice.  Will I wither as a wallflower and dismally watch others dance the day away?  Or will I take a chance, overcome my fear, and step out onto the dance floor of my life?

I can choose to listen to the echoes of the American noise.  Or I can choose to preach the Gospel to myself, daily. I can choose to listen to my incessant complaints and disputes over the loss of my “perfect” life, or I can remind myself daily of the Truth:

No. The perfect life is not the American dream, or the European dream, or even the dream of our fathers.  The perfect life is a life perfectly alive in Christ. 

  • A life of guilt perfectly absorbed in the life of the innocent {aka Christ}.
  • A life filled with Truth {aka Christ}.
  • A life satisfied, cleansed, and refreshed through the Living Water that gushes forth from the Rock of my Salvation {aka Christ}.
  • A life lived in a daily reminder of His joy and His delight in me.

Yes. In this life I will have trouble. Trouble waking up. Trouble believing the Truth.  Trouble finding my joy.  But God never promised an easy life.  He only promised to go with me every step of the way.

Dance5

He even promised to lead me onto The Dance Floor. And, maybe even more importantly, enjoy Him so much that others desire a Dance too.

This is not my day.  It’s the day the Lord has made.  And as Jeremiah 31:4 says, “I will again be happy and dance.”

Photo Credits and even more really cool FREE Printables {HERE}

Might I Pray for Us?

Dearest Father, Leader of The Dance,

You love us so.  You sing us awake each morning with the hum of your handiwork.  Help us tune our ears to your angelic voices. Help us stop listening to ourselves, and start speaking the Truth to our hearts.  Help us believe all that is True and start dancing the day away atop your feet, like a little girl at the Daddy-Daughter Dance.  For this is the day that You have made.  Help us rejoice and be glad in it. Amen.

3 thoughts on “Get up and Dance {or How to Live the Perfect Life p.4}

  1. So amazing that I saw this devotion today. Had a friend visiting this weekend and she inforned me , with love, that I had become a negative person. I was embarrassed and hurt but have tried to truly hear from the Lord if that was true. These last seven years have been difficult to say the least. I, in chronological order, became disabled, lost my job, my (small) salary, my ministry, my mobility, my church, my Mom, my Dad, one daughter by detatchment, one daughter by distance, While all this was going on, my husband was becoming more ill with COPD. I was his caregiver until four months ago when he could no longer stand and had to go into a nursing home. Yeah, it’s possible that I’ve made a sad and/or negative comment during this time.But I’ve NEVER lost my faith or trust in God. In fact, I’ve really learned it’s not about THIS life at all; it’s about using this life for eternity. I’ve tried to minister to the people God has brought to us , caregivers, nurses, aides, etc. I’ve learned to value every human contact I have, even repairmen!, because my contact with people is rare and I don’t want to miss any chance to sow a seed. But I digress. Am I negative? Hard for me to really say. I’m sure sometimes my joy in the Lord is buried deeper than at other times. But it’s there, constant and real, and easily brought to the surface with a little encouragement. It would be a a sorrow if I can’t share my burdens with my friends (all two of them) without being viewed as negative. But I will be watching for the Lord to reveal to me any truth in my friend’s remark. Thanks for letting me vent!

  2. So glad that you are dancing with Jesus, despite how you feel. I am preaching this same truth to myself. Jesus has been inviting me to preach to myself instead of listening to myself this whole summer. Most days, I am not aware that I am listening to myself. My challenge is that I have to remind myself that I don’t need to “produce” joy in my own strength. I simply have to ask for a deposit of Jesus’ joy, which is both abundant and Jesus is more than willing to supply.

    I am so happy to see another daughter enjoy “Thoughts to Make your heart Sing.” It is indeed a great treasure. I pray your heart sings throughout this book.

    Love,
    S6

    • Oh Sara, I don’t think my internal dialog ever shuts up. Thank you for the reminder that I don’t have to produce joy. But seek it, seek Him. Love you, friend!

Comments are closed.