A Christian Home {and a Perfectly Loved Giveaway!}

I thought it was Be Still My Soul.  The tune sure sounded like it.  But last Sunday {Mother’s Day} Trevor’s piano notes did not match the lyrics I expected….

O give us homes with godly fathers, mothers

Who always place their hope and trust in Him

Whose tender patience turmoil never bothers

Whose calm and courage trouble can not dim

A home where each finds joy in serving others

And love still shines, tho’ days be dark and grim (Verse 2)

Hymn #719 – A Christian Home.  A song I’ve never heard before.  And now one that I won’t soon forget.

Now I know that God works through music to convict the soul, {and never condemns – that’s the work of the Devil}, but by the end of verse two, I sure felt rebuked.

  • “Whose tender patience turmoil never bothers” – turmoil almost always bothers my harsh impatience.
  • “Whose calm and courage trouble can not dim” – calm and courage?  Mine is so fledgling!
  • “A home where each finds joy in serving others” – Oh that I could create that spirit in my children.
  • “And love still shines, tho’ days be dark and grim” – can my thin, flickering flame of faith really shine bright enough to split the darkness?

Sometimes I feel overwhelmed at this imperfect space we call home.  I desire peace and often find chaos.  I pray for wisdom and am often left dumbfounded at the words an deeds of my children. I put them to bed with a sigh of relief instead of a prayer for their future.

But Christ never called us to perfection.  He called us to His side – the sin-pierced side of a perfect Redeemer.

Which is why I’m so excited to announce this week’s FREE Giveaway!

perfectly loved

Holley Gerth’s Perfectly Loved mug.

She didn’t have to be perfect because she was perfectly loved.

How perfect is that??

Holley Gerth herself donated this sweet little reminder of the perfection we already have in Christ.  You can find more words on her blog by clicking {here}. And more of her products at DaySpring by clicking {here}.

So how can you win?

Just share this post on any social media platform {Facebook, email, Twitter, etc.) and then come back to leave a comment telling me all about it.  I’ll announce the winner next Friday.

6 thoughts on “A Christian Home {and a Perfectly Loved Giveaway!}

  1. “She didn’t have to be perfect because she was perfectly loved”….this really speaks to me in so many ways, Tracey! I need to write this on my walls to reflect on daily. Shared on my FB!

  2. Tracey, I also discovered this hymn and was convicted by it’s simple and yet profound statements of the impact of a Christian home. This mug is beautiful. I linked you to my facebook post so I hope you see it.

Comments are closed.