BE Attitudes {Recovery of Sight}

In 2005 Louie Giglio wrote an a.maz.ing little book that rocked my world.  Actually, he probably wrote it in 2004 and spent the next year emailing publishers and editors and cover artists back and forth for twelve more months.  But I digress…

This pocket hardback got under my skin like a sliver of wood.  Initially painful, but with time, you get over the injury. I must have emptied one poor mechanical pencil’s entire store of lead on it’s pages.  And the second time around?  Annihilated an entire pink insert for the Bible Dry Highlighter.  (Won’t Bleed Through.  Ideal for Bibles.)

What am I trying to say?  This Book Rocks! And NO!  I won’t let you borrow mine.  Go get your own. 🙂 {Click here! Go ahead.  It won’t bite.}

BE8

Some of you know that I have an ongoing pursuit of all things Exodus.  I  latch onto any insight into the symbolism between the Israelite Exodus out of Egypt and my own spiritual exodus out of secular philosophy.  So, can you guess why I’m so excited over Louie’s book?  Yup.  You guessed it. He handed me the canvas to start painting word pictures of Egypt.

The biblical exodus started in a desert wilderness with a convicted murderer turned wandering sheep-herder.  You may have heard of him.  Some call him Moses.

…God called to [Moses] from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.” (Exodus 3:4)

After some sandal-shedding and head-bowing God continued, letting Moses in on a little secret:

I have surely seen the oppression of My people…and have heard their cry…for I know their sorrows.  So I have come down to deliver My people, the children of Israel, out of the Egypt… (Exodus 3:7-8)

BE6

There are so many truths to expose here, but the one aspect I want to reveal comes next. After calling Moses by name (!), after assuring Moses that He has seen, has heard, and knows the deep sorrows of the Israelite slaves, and after promising Moses that He (The God of Abraham) has come down to the deliver these slaves out of Egypt, after all these things, God makes an incredible, almost incredulous statement:

So now, go. I am sending you to Pharaoh to bring my people the Israelites out of Egypt. (Exodus 3:10)

Is God really saying, “I have come that you may go!“?

Go! I paid close attention to your people.  Get a move on!  I have inclined My ear to their cries. Get going!  I grasp the depth of their suffering.  And I have come down here, in this moment, to rescue them from Egypt.  Now get a move on!  Yes, you.  Go!

And in response to Moses’ obvious dismay, God offers up,

But I will certainly be with you…[for] I AM WHO I AMI AM has sent [you] to [Egypt]. (Exodus 3:12,14)

Here!  Here Louie staples the canvas to the framework of Pioneer Parenting {If you’re lost and want to know more about Pioneer Parenting, click here} and presents me the primed backdrop.  He says, “God’s name, I AM, translates into the verb to be. I AM = I BE.  Not great grammar, but powerful theology. God’s name is BE” (Giglio, p38).

BE3

This changes everything. No longer am I just God’s belovedI am BE loved.  I am God loved.  I am I AM loved.  The God of the universe. The One who called Moses by name (“Moses! Moses!”). The God who calls each of us by name for we are His (Isaiah 43:1). The Holy One who watches intently, listens closely, and identifies with my slavery (“I know their sorrows”).  The One who has come down to deliver me, a child of Israel, out of my Egypt.  He is the lover of my soul!  And He will BE with me always.

BE4

And not only this!  But now this command: be loved, takes on new affect. “He is not really asking [me] to allow Him to love [me] as much as He is telling [me] to receive what He has already demonstrated in the death of His Son” (Giglio, p158).

My wilderness wandering, my Exodus out of  my Egypt finally secured a backdrop.  BE loved.  BE still. BE known. BE merciful. BE transformed. BE holy are now the, “BE attitudes (God attitudes or I AM attitudes), descriptors of what I can become when I AM is living in me” (Giglio, p159).  Let the painting begin!

BE

Might I Pray for Us?

Dearest Heavenly Father,

BE here.  BE mine. BE with me.  BE holy.  We confess that we being with you is not always on our agenda.  We see the burning bush, and we walk right by.  We fail to stop, set aside our to-do list, and be available to your call. Thank you that you call us each by name.  We are Yours.  Thank you that you loved us while we were yet sinners, and ask only that we receive that love demonstrated through your Son, Jesus Christ.  Help us to BE all that you ask of us.

Amen.

Notes of Encouragement

Words of Affirmation

I like not only to be loved, but to be told I am loved. – George Eliot

{Q4U}: Help me out friends.  Which BE Attitude should I tackle first?  BE known? BE still (ooh, this is a good one)? BE holy? BE transformed?

2 thoughts on “BE Attitudes {Recovery of Sight}

  1. This is an exciting post! Makes me feel like leaning in. Can’t wait to see where you will BE with the next one!

    • That depends on you all. Where do you want to see me BE next? I’m leaning into BE still or BE transformed….but they’re all BEing developed by The One who BEcame my God!!

Comments are closed.